Greens Are The Greenest

Media Release

October 3, 2019


EDMONTON – The Green Party of Alberta is recommending that Alberta residents cast their ballots in the 43rd Canadian general election for the Green Party of Canada.

“October 21st is a prime opportunity for us to turn the channel on divisive politics that has led to a Climate Emergency, a 19th century voting system, and vast social and economic disparity,” says Will Carnegie, Interim Leader of the Green Party of Alberta.

The Green Party are running candidates in every one of Alberta’s 34 federal constituencies. “Albertans need and deserve a national government that applies science-based solutions to the Climate Emergency, recognizes land rights, Indigenous sovereignty and implements a just transition from fossil fuels to renewable energy as part of the shift to the clean, green economy. Canada requires a government that is willing to believe in and implement Canadian innovation in all of our industries. The Green Party is the only party offering real change and real representation. ” says Carnegie, who is also the Green Party of Alberta Candidate of Record in Calgary-East.

The following is a list of Green Party of Canada candidates in Alberta:

Banff-Airdrie: Austin Mullins

Battle River-Crowfoot: Geordie Nelson

Bow River: Riny Tuithof de Jonge

Calgary-Centre: Thana Boonlert

Calgary-Confederation: Natalie Odd

Calgary-Forest Lawn: Will Carnegie

Calgary-Heritage: Allie Tulick

Calgary-Midnapore: Taylor Stasila

Calgary-Nose Hill: Jocelyn Grosse

Calgary-Rocky Ridge: Catriona Wright

Calgary-Shepard: Evelyn Tanaka

Calgary-Signal Hill: Marco Reid

Calgary Skyview: Signe Knutson

Edmonton-Centre: Grad Murray

Edmonton-Griesbach: Safi Khan

Edmonton-Manning: Laurie-Leah Shaw

Edmonton-Mill Woods: Tanya Herbert

Edmonton-Riverbend: Valerie Kennedy

Edmonton-Strathcona: Kalmanovitch

Edmonton-West: Jackie Pearce

Edmonton-Wetaskiwin: Emily Drzymala

Foothills: Bridget Lacey

Fort McMurray-Cold Lake: Brian Deheer

Grande Prairie-Mackenzie: Shelley Termuende

Lakeland: Kira Brunner

Lethbridge: Stephnie Watson

Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner: Shannon Hawthorne

Peace River-Westlock: Peter Nygaard

Red Deer-Lacombe: Sarah Palmer

Red Deer-Mountain View: Conner Borle

Sherwood Park-Fort Saskatchewan: Laura Sanderson

St. Albert-Edmonton: Rob Dunbar

Sturgeon River-Parkland: Cass Romyn

Yellowhead: Angelena Satdeo

“Elections are ultimately opportunities for people and communities. We urge Albertans to seize the moment so that the Green Party values of Sustainability, Social Justice, Non-Violence, Ecological Wisdom, Respect for Diversity, and Participatory Democracy can inhabit our national Parliament,” says Carnegie.

The Green Party of Alberta will hold its Annual General Meeting at Red Deer on November 16, 2019. Members will fill the roles of President, Secretary, and four At-Large positions on the Executive Council. An official date for the party’s leadership convention has not been set as of yet.

  • 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Will Carnegie
Interim Leader of the Green Party of Alberta, Candidate of Record in Calgary-East
Phone: 403-973-6035

%d bloggers like this: